Wee Houses Notes #4

More notes.

Temporary? Put a Date On It …

Over the past year of living in Gypsy Rose, Marion and I have made a number of refinements, or, in some cases, complete rethinking of the interior design. Some things that looked good on paper, or were originally seen as “gotta have” items have ended up being completely rethought.

A year and a half ago I’d wished that I could have completely finished our home before moving in, fearing that I’d never complete things while living in the space. I now realize that the circumstances that led us to move in before completion did not result in any discomfort. Instead, we benefited by learning about the way we live in a small space. In retrospect, considering the knowledge we’ve gained while living with the “temporary,” I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Firing up the Little Cod

One of the challenges that we had with the Gypsy project was finding a stove that was SMALL enough. With only 120 square feet to warm, most stoves on the market would have had us running from the heat. Then, there was the issue of clearances required from combustible surfaces. Larger stoves would have required an installation in the middle of the room and our entire tiny space would have become unusable.

A year ago, I’d all but given up on having a wood stove in Gypsy Rose, but then I discovered Navigator Stove Works. They build stoves for small boats, although the stoves are equally suited for small cabins. With a proper heat shield, clearances can be as low as 1 inch. That’ll work. We ordered our Little Cod model last spring and it’s been waiting patiently in a wooden crate for today to come.

I Will Escape

Gilded Poverty: Lessons from America’s Fabulously broke.

The third example is a lady who visited my bank, and after talking to me about how great it was to have Section 8 pay half of your rent (she only had to pay 300 a month), I had her complain to me about how high her Lexus payments were. In fact her Lexus payments were more expensive than her rent. Which makes you wonder, if she can afford a Lexus, why can’t she afford to pay her own rent?

Living In Small Houses

Tiny Little House Blog

Lodge-On-Wheels

Mint: The Renter’s Manifesto

Building Zoey’s Tiny House

— wow, she had a lot of help. It really makes me wonder about the effort required to really DIY one of these.

Municipal Codes

Comments are closed.

