The Two WTF!!!! From Steve Jobs

On Friday, Apple held its Forget-All-This-Happened-By-Monday press conference to dismiss the design flaw of the iPhone 4 antenna.

I’ve seen a lot of Steve Jobs video and he is usually very good at covering over his lacunae. The man has the Mouth Gift.

But I’ve never been impressed by glib people. In fact, they make me reach for my wallet to make sure it’s still in my pocket.

On Friday, Steve Jobs said two things that were even worse than that sensation.

I was reminded of them when I read this Slate post: Here’s Your Free Case, Jerk

Jobs said:

What would you prefer, that we’re a Korean company? Do you not like the fact that we’re an American company leading the world right here?

What the fuck does that have to do with anything? In fact, where the hell did that even come from? What dark well did Steve Jobs give us a glimpse into that he pulls Koreans out of thin air as an example of anything?

Jobs then also went on to say this:

We love our users so much we’ve built 300 Apple retail stores for them.

What? What? Is he for real? Does he really, really believe that? Love expressed as mercantilism? What will he do next, offer himself up for crucifixion?

I don’t know what’s going on with Jobs and Apple right now. Maybe his brush with death gave him a feeling of invincibility rather than vulnerability. Maybe after being behind for so long, being in front has overfed his ego. Whatever is going on, I don’t like it.

And that kind of attitude is going to make Apple trip and fall.

Comments are closed.

