Amazon: The Handmaiden Of Satan

Let me recap for the newcomers:

1) Sony was first to the mass-market eBook device market
2) Then Amazon came along with the Kindle and stole it from Sony
3) The Kindle was a design horror in version 1 and no better in version 2
4) Kindle alienated me by bad product design and failing to adopt ePub for eBooks
5) Nevertheless, Kindle has won and is now the standard for eBooks
6) ePub is dead (keep your Nook, but sell that Sony Reader)

Anyway, until point five, I avoided Amazon. Didn’t even have an account there. Would only use it very rarely to check to see if a book title existed or was in print (for out of print, I used ABEBooks — which Amazon then went and bought!).

So, now, today we’re at post-point five. And I have an Amazon account. I set it up last week.

But I’m not buying anything with it.

Yet Amazon must have studied Advanced Temptation from Satan himself, because I’ve now wound up with Kindle for PC on my desktop and this has been the result:

Those are all free Kindle eBook samples. Except the two highlighted in light blue at the bottom. Those are absolutely free full Kindle books from large publishers.

And there is more than that one screen.

And I could get all of that despite no payment method yet linked to my Amazon account. No credit card, no debit card, not even a gift card.

Now is that Advanced Temptation or what?

I don’t like where this could be heading.

Especially since Kindle has books no other ebookstore has.

My soul! My soul!

Comments are closed.

