Kindle 3: eInk Graphite Versus White

I created an animated GIF to illustrate the point I made yesterday in my Kindle DX post:

Final observation: It’s probably just me, but I dislike dark fascias on eInk devices. They make the screen look darker to me. That’s been the case with every eInk device I’ve tried. So, if you’re out there wondering which color Kindle 3 to buy, see if you can try out a Sony Reader in silver and one in dark blue first, so you can determine if the eInk seems brighter with a lighter casing.

On Amazon’s own site I saw two pictures that illustrate perfectly what my own eyes see:

create avatar

Now, maybe this is a Photoshop trick, but I really think this image below is the Photoshop trick:

With the screens altered to make them the same hue.

YMMV, but this is what I have seen with eInk screens with dark borders around them.

Comments are closed.

