Aug 8th, 2010 4:36pm

I Fought The Kindle — And Lost

OK, Amazon just broke me. I need to get a Kindle. Two books NO ONE ELSE has. Checked Sony & B&N. Nada there.Sun Aug 08 19:52:18 via web

I won’t say which two books yet because after downloading the samples, I discovered formatting problems.

I’ve contacted the publisher and asked them to correct those.

For the past several days, I’ve been going through Amazon, surprised at what books it has versus everyone else.

If you want eBooks, you want a Kindle, period.

That’s simply how it is. Amazon has more than anyone else. Don’t ask me how they do that, I don’t know. But I do know that while Sony slept and ignored writers, Amazon opened up the Kindle Store to all those writers so they could publish for the Kindle. That also brought along a lot of small publishers too.

So Amazon didn’t have to cut any sweetheart deals or cheat to win.

They just allowed writers in.

Sony could have done that, but didn’t.

As for these two books … I read them way back in the 1970s and they impressed the hell out of me. So much so that I tracked down used copies a few years ago to permanently own. But I’ve wanted them in e. At one point, I planned to scan them.

Hell, I think so highly of these books, at one point I was thinking of getting the rights to them to publish in e myself.

Now I won’t have to do any of that. Just buy and Whispersync them down.

I must buy a Kindle.

Comments are closed.

