Aug 9th, 2010 11:42am

The World Has Been Bled Dry

John Waters

Can you tell me about your next film project? On The Colbert Report you talked about Fruitcake, about a boy who shoplifts meat from the grocery store.

But I can’t get it made. I mean, I’ve been trying to make it for two years. To be honest, I don’t know anyone who can get a five million dollar independent film made these days. So I’m thinking up another one, but I’m not sure, because it will cost the same amount of money. The New Line I know is gone, a lot of the companies I worked with are gone. I mean I’ll try to make another film, I certainly want to. I’ve got projects. I’ll write another book. I loved writing a book; it was a really good experience.

That is John Waters, the filmmaker, speaking.

He has a rep, he has a history, he has made people money, he is well-known, he has an audience, and he is iconic.

And yet he is no different than most writers today being dropped by their publishers.

This is what Corporatism has done to variety. It has killed it.

When only those who are compatible with working in the Suit World make the decisions, you get drivel and pap that’s a perfect reflection of that mindset.

Boring, dull, predictable, disposable, and forgettable.

Comments are closed.

